An American Family History

Midwest Pioneers


Name Lived in from
Bertrand Des Moines, Polk County, Iowa
Chariton, Lucas County, Iowa
Fox Lucas County, Iowa Washington County, Pennsylvania
Butler County, Ohio
Lane Chariton, Lucas County, Iowa Fairfield, Ohio
Chariton, Lucas County, Iowa
New Jersey
Barree/West/Logan Township, Huntington County, Pennsylvania
Amanda Township
, Fairfield County, Ohio
Lancaster, Wells County, Indiana
Winterset, Union, Madison County, Iowa
Aurora, Hamilton County, Nebraska Lincoln, Logan County, Illinois
Smith Lucas County, Iowa Tennessee
Tuttle Lucas County, Iowa  

In the 1830s settlers began arriving in Iowa from Ohio, Pennsylvania, New York, Indiana, Kentucky, and Virginia. Iowa became a state in 1846.