An American Family History

Margaret Powell Payne

Chariton is the county seat of Lucas County, Iowa and is in Lincoln Township.

Margaret was born in March, 1856 in Iowa.

She married Eugene Powell in 1878. Eugene was born in April 1855 in New York. His parents were Enos S. Powell and Esther Ann Gage.

Margaret and Eugene had 5 children: William Powell (1879), Armina Powell Vanzant (1880), Mary Etta Powell (1883), Eva Olive Powell Graham (1884) and Ida Powell (1887).

Eugene died in 1912 in Des Moines and was buried in Chariton Cemetery.

After his death, Margaret married O.E. Payne.


Will and I



The Chariton Leader, Chariton, Iowa
Thursday, October 12, 1905

From the Shenandoah Sentinel-Post we take the following wedding notice which will be of interest to Chariton friends as the groom, who is a son of Mrs. Margaret Powell, formerly resided here:

"Rev. J. M. Ross married Miss Effie Allen and Mr. William Powell at 4 o'clock Wednesday evening at the home of the bride's mother, a widow on Matthews Street. It was a quiet but happy ceremony, only a few intimate friends being present. There was no display, they stood alone at the altar, the pretty bride dressed in blue silk, and the handsome groom as proud as an emperor. At five o'clock, a three-course luncheon was served, and at night they were honored by two charivaries, first by the boys and then by the girls, then the wedded pair went to their own home, 104 Clarinda Avenue, which had been fully furnished and was waiting for them to set up housekeeping.

The bride is one of our prettiest young girls and is as good as she is beautiful. For the past two years she has been bookkeeper and collector for the Bell Telephone Company, and much appreciated and esteemed by her employers and office associates. Her mother parts with her only daughter with rejoicing, because she knows Effie has won a good husband. Mr. Powell has a place in the Shurtz Restaurant. His parents live in Chariton. We wish the couple a pleasant and prosperous life together."

In the 1830s settlers began arriving in Iowa from Ohio, Pennsylvania, New York, Indiana, Kentucky, and Virginia. Iowa became a state in 1846.

Colonial Maryland
Colonial New England
Colonial Virginia & West Virginia
Quakers & Mennonites
New Jersey Baptists
German Lutherans
Watauga Settlement
Pennsylvania Pioneers
Midwest Pioneers
Jewish Immigrants

©Roberta Tuller 2020
An American Family History is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program,
an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.
As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.